Skip to content

Guaranteed to give you Swan Bumps

January 26, 2011

Counter to pub-ular opinion, I’m not sure a Swan is actually capable of breaking a man’s arm. I mean, seriously, have you ever met a person with a limb encased in plaster, only to be told that such an injury was caused by an angry avian menace?

I’m betting you haven’t.

However, that’s not to say Swans aren’t capable of giving you a good pummeling on an emotional level.

Last night I went to see Black Swan. Mesmerizing, chilling and beautiful – it blew me away. If Natalie Portman fails to win best female at this year’s awards, then there’s something truly wrong with the cosmic ordering of the universe.

Having now seen it, Darren Aronofsky’s creative process in coming to realise the film makes for an interesting classical mash-up . He wanted to make a movie about the insular world of ballet and slowly developed the idea for Black Swan over the course of a decade. The inspiration originally came one day, whilst halfway through Dostoyevsky’s The Double, he went to see a performance of Swan Lake. The two ideas were married and an exceptional movie was set in motion.

This morning, still pondering last night’s film, I read a chapter on Bjork from Alex Ross’ Listen to This. She attended the Oscars in 2001 dressed as a swan. I’ve spent the morning listening intensely to her 2004 Medula album. I don’t really know what my point is with this final paragraph, only that in the last 24 hours I’ve come to like a few things I never really gave much time to in the past. Tchaikovsky, Bjork, Ballet and Swans. That’s ‘s got to be a rich melting pot for some exciting creativity right there.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

